Key certifications for modular data centers and micro data centers

certificaciones data center
Table of Contents

Certifications for modular data centers (MDCs) and micro data centers (micro DCs) are key to ensuring compliance with quality, safety, energy efficiency and sustainability standards. These internationally recognized certifications are key to ensuring excellence in these infrastructures.

Uptime Institute Tier Certification: Reliability and Availability Rating

The Uptime Institute offers a standard rating to evaluate the reliability and availability of data centers, including MDC and micro DC. This certification is divided into four levels:

-Tier I: basic infrastructure suitable for small businesses with limited redundancy needs, providing 99.671% availability.

-Tier II: introduces redundant components, suitable for companies that require greater reliability, with 99.741% availability.

-Tier III: allows concurrent maintenance without service interruptions, offering 99.982% availability. Ideal for large businesses and critical services.

-Tier IV: provides fault-tolerant infrastructure, ensuring 99.995% availability. Essential for mission-critical applications.

This certification is globally recognized and applicable to MDC and micro DC in all international markets.

EN 50600: European Standard for Data Centers

EN 50600 provides detailed guidelines for the design, construction and operation of data centers, including MDC and micro DC. It covers several key aspects:

-Physical infrastructure: requirements for the construction and layout of facilities.

-Energy management: guidelines for energy efficiency, including assessment and reduction of energy consumption.

-Security: covers both physical security and information security.

-Sustainability: criteria for environmental sustainability and the use of renewable resources.

Although it is a European standard, its principles can be applied to MDCs and micro DCs outside Europe.

CEEDA (Certified Energy Efficient Data Center Award): Energy Efficiency

CEEDA evaluates and recognizes the energy efficiency of data centers. Based on the best practices of Green Grid and other organizations, it is particularly relevant for MDCs and micro DCs in Europe looking to stand out for their energy efficiency and lower environmental impact.

The certification is based on internationally recognized best practices and can be applied to MDCs and micro DCs anywhere in the world.

ISO/IEC 27001: Information Security Management

ISO/IEC 27001 is an international standard that specifies the requirements for an Information Security Management System (ISMS). In Europe, this certification is crucial for MDCs and micro DCs that handle sensitive information and require high levels of security. Implementing ISO/IEC 27001 helps protect data against security threats and breaches, ensuring the confidentiality, integrity and availability of information.

This certification is applicable in any country and ensures that information security management systems comply with global best practices.

ISO/IEC 20000: IT Service Management

ISO/IEC 20000 demonstrates that a data center has implemented a Service Management System (SMS) in accordance with international best practices. It is critical to ensure quality and efficiency in the delivery of IT services in MDC and micro DC. 

This certification is recognized worldwide and demonstrates that a data center follows international best practices in IT service management.

LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design): Sustainability Certification

LEED is a certification for sustainable and energy efficient buildings, granted by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC). Although of American origin, its adoption in Europe is increasing due to the demand for sustainable practices. LEED-certified MDCs and micro DCs demonstrate their commitment to reducing their carbon footprint and using resources efficiently.

LEED is a global certification applicable in more than 165 countries and is widely recognized as a sustainability standard for MDC and micro DC worldwide.

PCI DSS (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard): Payment Data Security

For MDCs and micro DCs handling card payment information, PCI DSS certification is crucial. This standard ensures that the security infrastructure and practices meet the requirements necessary to protect payment card data against fraud and security breaches.

PCI DSS is a globally recognized standard, applicable to any entity that processes, stores or transmits payment card information, regardless of its usage.

Certifications for modular data centers and micro data centers ensure they meet high standards of quality, security, efficiency and sustainability. Obtaining and maintaining these certifications provides regulatory compliance and a competitive advantage and is key to long-term success and growth in the telecommunications and IT industry.



Most popular

Telecom Enclosures

Energy efficiency

Modular Data Centers